The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the 2021 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to German and British Chemists Benjamin List and David W.C. MacMillan. The Chemists were awarded the Nobel Prize for their independent research work, which led to the emergence of the third type of catalysis, also known as asymmetric organocatalysis. Building upon small organic molecules, the outstanding professors developed asymmetric organocatalysis to show that organic catalysts can drive multitudes of chemical reactions.